The Department of Chemistry is the largest academic department at Haldia Government College with seven (07) full-time Assistant Professors. The department offers the following courses-

  1. Regular M.Sc. degree under Vidyasagar University (2 years, four semester course)
  2. B.Sc. in Chemistry (Honours) through CBCS mode (3 years, six semester course)
  3. M.Sc. degree under Directorate of Distance Education, Vidyasagar University

Apart from these regular degree programmes, a few faculty members are guiding Ph.D. students in collaboration with other institutes.

The teaching faculty members of the departments are highly qualified in their respective specialized areas. All the teachers completed their Ph.D. degree from reputed national institutions/universities and are currently involved in different research activities. 

The department has several class rooms which are well equipped with ICT technologies. The department has two large wet laboratories, one regular instrumentation laboratory, one dedicated project research lab and another computer cum high end instrument lab, along with several chemical store rooms, reagent preparation rooms etc.

Every year, students from different parts of districts and other districts take admission into this department (intake capacity 47) and cent percent clear the six   semester course within due time with very high grade point.  This department has an extremely good track record in placing pass out students to next higher studies. Almost all students get a chance in higher studies (M.Sc.) in different universities and other national institutes. Every year a good number of students qualify for the entrance examination (JAM) for pursuing M.Sc. in prestigious IITs like IIT-Bombay, IIT-Kanpur, IIT-Guwahati, IIT-Kharagpur, IIT-Bhubaneswar, IIT-Patna etc. and other national universities or institutes like Hyderabad Central University, IISER-Kolkata, IACS-Kolkata, IIEST-Shibpur etc. All our faculty members are deeply involved in conducting special coaching classes for these national level entrance examinations.

The department has a tradition of conducting theoretical as well as practical classes on a daily basis with available reagents and apparatus which are funded by the Department of Higher Education, the Government of West Bengal.  

The department offers regular M.Sc. courses under Vidyasagar University where students are admitted though a competitive entrance test for a two years course.  Apart from our regular departmental teachers, several distinguished teachers from other institutes visit our department for specialised lectures in special papers. In 3rd and 4th semester, students undertake project work under direct supervision of the departmental teachers which are evaluated in the presence of external examiners. Besides regular syllabus, we are more interested in motivating our Masters students to place them in a research environment. We conduct special coaching for NET, GATE etc. examinations and every year several students crack these national competitive exams and place themselves in Ph.D. curriculum in different universities and institutes.

The department has its own seminar library, where several text books, reference books and journals are available which can be accessed by students for a long time also. The department organizes different national and in house seminar/conferences where eminent scientists and academic personalities deliver talks to the students and interact with the students on a regular basis. The department organizes departmental picnic every year to build a strong relationship between the students and teachers.  The passed out ex-students meet the current students regularly and interact with current students to share their views in terms of future perspectives.

In summary, this department has a student-friendly environment with a strict discipline where both undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in Chemistry can be obtained.


Name Designation Faculty Image Details
Dr. Dipankar Pramanik Assistant Professor
Dr. Uday Sankar Midya Assistant Professor
Dr. Barnali Jana Assistant Professor
Dr. Khokan Samanta Assistant Professor
Dr. Saikat Kumar Manna Assistant Professor
Dr. Sudipta Pathak Assistant Professor
Dr. Monotosh Mondal Assistant Professor

Past Students Who Are Placed at Different National and International Higher Education Institutes

B.Sc. M.Sc.
Year Name Currently Pursuing Year Name Currently Pursuing
2022 Avijit Maity M.Sc. IIT Kharagpur 2022 Arnab Rout Ph.D. IIT Kharagpur (selected)
Riya Patra M.Sc. IIT Bhubaneswar 2021 Sudip Ghorai Ph.D. IIT Kharagpur
Saikat Samanta M.Sc. IIT Bombay 2020 Buddhadeb Paul Ph.D. NISER Bhubaneswar (NET)
2021 Atanu Das M.Sc. IIT Kanpur 2019 Subham Mahapatra Ph.D. Midnapur College
Subhadip Pradhan M.Sc. IIT Guwahati Golam Rasul Khan Ph.D. IIT Patna
Subharam Samanta M.Sc. IIT Patna Arpan Das Ph.D. (NET)
Kalipada Paul M.Sc. Hyderabad Central University 2018 Dipanjan Pan Ph.D. IIEST Shibpur
2020 Ayan Bhowmik Integrated Ph.D. IACS Kolkata 2017 Samit Pramanik Ph.D. Jadavpur University (NET)
Subhadip Samanta M.Sc. IIT Bhubaneswar Samir Manna Ph.D. IIT Kharagpur (NET)
2019 Tarpan Maiti Ph.D. IISER Trivandrum Madan Sau Ph.D. NIT Jumshedpur(NET)
Sudip Ghorai Ph.D. IIT Kharagpur Rampada Das Ph.D. Calcutta University (NET)
2018 Suman Das Adhikary M.Sc. IIT Bombay (completed), Ph.D. Florida State University, USA Sukomal Bhunia Ph.D. IISER Bhopal (NET)
Soumen Adak Integrated Ph.D. IISER Kolkata Atanu Mondal Faculty, Moyna College
Debraj Ghorai Ph.D. IIT Kharagpur, (NET) Prasenjit Mal Faculty, Panskura Banamali College
Sk Mustak Ahmed Ph.D. IACS Kolkata, (NET)
Buddhadeb Paul Ph.D. NISER Bhubaneswar
2017 Arup Samanta Ph.D. IIT Guwahati
Subhankar Samanta Ph.D. IIT Kharagpur, (NET)
Golam Rasul Khan Ph.D. IIT Patna